Candidate lists declared for exile Tibetan poll on Mar 20



(, Feb04’16) – The Election Commission of the Central Tibetan Administration has on Feb 3 announced the final list of candidates for the election of 16th Tibetan Parliament-in-Exile and the Sikyong for which voting will take place on Mar 20.

There are only two candidates for the election of the Sikyong who is the executive head of the Central Tibetan Administration. Both the candidates, the incumbent Dr Lobsang Sangay and the parliament speaker Mr Penpa Tsering, stand for a middle way solution for Tibet: accepting Chinese rule in return for granting of autonomy for an ethnically integrated Tibetan territory.

The Tibetan election commission had earlier decided that there would be only two candidates for the Sikyong election unless the number of votes won by the third candidate in the preliminary poll, held in Oct 2015, was within a 20 percent margin from the candidate winning the second most number of votes. This led to the exclusion of the third candidates Lukar Jam who campaigned for a position of fighting for independence from Chinese rule.

For the election for the 45-member Tibetan Parliament-in-Exile, the election commission has shortlisted 20 candidates each for the three traditional provinces of Tibet, in addition to one voluntary candidate. The number of seats for each province is 10.

The top 10 candidates for U-Tsang province are: Sharling Tenzin Dadon, Acharya Yeshe Phuntsok, Dolma Tsering, Dhondup Tashi, Dawa Phunkyi, Pema Jungney, Karma Yeshe, Dawa Tsering, Migyur Dorje, Samten Choedon, and Lhagyari Namgyal Dolkar. Seven are incumbent MPs. Paljor from Kullu-Manali is the lone voluntary candidate for this province.

The top 10 candidates for Dotoe Province are: Juchen Konchok Choedon, Serta Tsultrim, Yangchen Dolkar, Aukatsang Youdon, Lobsang Dakpa, Pema Delek, Lobsang Yeshe, Konchok Yarphel, Dorje Tseten, and Choekyong Wangchuk. Six are incumbent MPs.

The top 10 candidates for Domey province are: Thupten Lungrik, Tashi Dhondup, Tsering Lhamo, Yeshe Dolma, Gyarik Thar, Lobsang Choejor, Karma Gelek, Tsering Youdon, Ratsa Sonam Norbu, and Dhondup Tashi. Five are incumbent MPs.

For the full lists of candidates for the provincial seat candidates, visit:

The number of seats for each of the five religious traditions is two. The candidates for Nyingma are: Khenpo Sonam Tenphel, Khenpo Pema Chephel, Monk Kelsang and Khenpo Jampel Tenzin.

The Kagyu candidates are: Kunga Soetop, Tenpa Yarphel, Sonam Damdul, and Pema Rigzin.

The Sakya candidates are: Lopon Pema Gyaltsen, Khenpo Kadag Ngodup Sonam, Acharya Lobsang Gyaltsen, and Dawu Ngawang Lodoe.

The Gelug candidates are: Atuk Tseten, Gowo Lobang Phende, Beri Sonam Wangchuk, and Geshe Thupten Wangchuk.

The Bonpo candidates are: Geshe Monlam Tharchin, Bara Tsewang Tashi, Geshe Namdak Tsugphue, and Yungdung Chime.

The North America candidates for the two seats are: Tashi Namgyal, Pema Chagzoetsang, Tsewang Rigzin, and Goduk Kalsang Phuntsok. The voluntary candidates for North America are: Kelsang Gyegyetri and Tenzin Rangdol.

The candidates for Europe and South Africa for the two seats are: Thupten Wangchen, Tethong Tenzin Wangpo, Thupten Gyatso, and Samdo Jampa Tsering.

The candidates for Australasia and Asia (other than Nepal, India and Bhutan) for one seat are: Dhongdue Kyinzom, and Ngodup Gyaltsen. The voluntary candidate is Thupten Dhondup.

For the description of the candidates for Tibetans living Europe, North America, Australasia and five religious traditions of Tibet, visit:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here