19 C
New Delhi
Saturday, February 27, 2021

China designates Tibet’s Shigatse and Chamdo as cities

Shigatse, the second city of Tibet.
Shigatse, the second city of Tibet.

(TibetanReview.net, Nov05, 2014) – China’s State Council, or cabinet, has approved a proposal from the Tibet Autonomous Region (TAR) to change the administrative status of Shigatse and Chamdo from prefectures to cities, reported China’s online Tibet news service eng.tibet.cn Nov 4, citing the local party mouthpiece Tibet Daily. Although it was not clear what the decision implies, apart from their names being changed from prefectures to cities, the report suggested that the decision entails administrative restructuring and preferential policies from Beijing.

The report cited Wu Yingjie, standing vice-secretary of the TAR Party Committee, as saying the preferential policies will vigorously promote reform, development and stability and contribute to the well-being of the people in both Shigatse and Chamdo.

The report said the TAR Party Committee had called on both Shigatse and Chamdo local party committees to ensure a smooth transition from prefectures to cities. “First, the prefectural governments should streamline their bureaucracies. Second, they should transform the economic mode of the two cities, increase the need for social management, promote the rule of law, and better allocate resources. Third, they should better plan funding programs and take advantage of the central government’s preferential policies well in advance. Finally, they should well manage their archives and transfer them smoothly to the governments of both cities.”

The decision means that the TAR is now made up of four prefectures, namely, Nagchu (Chinese: Naqu), Ngari (Ali), Lhokha (Shannan) and Nyingtri (Ningchi), and three cities, namely Lhasa (Lasa), Shigatse (Xigaze), and Chamdo (Changdu).

Related Articles

Brutalized Tibetan political prisoner dies after transfer to hospital without his family’s knowledge

(TibetanReview.net, Feb17’21) – A Tibetan political prisoner has died in hospital in Tibet’s capital Lhasa on Feb 6, less than three months...

China’s Panchen says Tibetans owe their happiness to Beijing, it’s not a gift of nature

(TibetanReview.net, Feb12’21) – "A glorious time and a happy homeland is not a gift from nature. We should remain grateful for our...

China closes temples in Lhasa ahead of sensitive events on Covid-19 pretext

(TibetanReview.net, Feb11’21) – China routinely imposes unannounced new restrictions in Tibet’s capital Lhasa ahead of February and March each year when Tibetans...


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles

After US State Department and Canadian House of Commons, Dutch Parliament declares China’s atrocities in Xinjiang genocide

(TibetanReview.net, Feb26’21) – After the US State Department and Canada’s House of Commons, the Netherlands has become the first European country whose...

Global Covid-19 death toll crosses 2.5 million, reported Tibetan cases touch 1,540

(TibetanReview.net, Feb26’21) – Reported worldwide death toll from Covid-19 has now topped the 2.5 million mark, with half of them having occurred...

China calls UN rights forum criticism of its abysmal record interference in its internal affairs

(TibetanReview.net, Feb25’21) – Several countries have on Feb 24 criticized the deteriorating human rights situation in the People’s Republic of China, including...

India reports sharpest daily rise in Covid-19 cases since Jan 29

(TibetanReview.net, Feb25’21) – Amid fears that it may be headed for second wave of Covid-19 infections, India has reported rather sharp increases...

China says Sichuan-Tibet Railway is a border defence project

(TibetanReview.net, Feb24’21) – China has for the first time made it clear that its geologically highly challenging Sichuan-Tibet Railway, which will run...