Exile parliament elects new Tibetan justices and autonomous bodies head

Secretary Sonam Norbu Dagpo elected Chief Justice Commissioner. (Photo courtesy: Tibet.Net)

(TibetanReview.net, Sep24’19) – The Tibetan Parliament in Exile on Sep 23 elected a new Chief Justice Commissioner as well as a new Justice Commissioner to the Tibetan Supreme Justice Commission at Dharamsala for which vacancies had arisen after retirements. The exile parliament also elected a new chairman to serve as the common head of the Public Service Commission and Chief Election Commissioner of the Central Tibetan Administration (CTA).

Secretary Tenzin Lungtok elected new Justice Commissioner. (Photo courtesy: Tibet.Net)

Mr Sonam Norbu Dagpo, currently Secretary at the CTA’s Department of Information and International Relations, won election for the Chief Justice Commissioner’s post with 30 votes, beating the other candidate, Mr Ngodup Dorjee, former Representative at the Office of Tibet, Geneva, who won 8 votes.

Mr Tenzin Lungtok, currently Secretary at the Department of Religion and Culture, CTA, was elected as a Justice Commission, having got 28 votes. The other candidate was Mr Tsewang Ngodup, Additional Secretary at the Office of the Auditor General, CTA, who won 11 votes.

Wangdu Tsering Pesur elected new Election Commissioner and Chairman of Public Service Commission. (Photo courtesy: Tibet.Net)

Also, Mr Wangdu Tsering Pesur, Secretary of the Department of Home, CTA, was elected as the chairman of both the Public Service Commission and Chief Election Commissioner of the CTA, having won 23 votes. The other candidate was Mr Tashi Gyatso Shadrung, Secretary of Tibetan Supreme Justice Commission, CTA, who won 18 votes.

The ongoing eighth session of the 16th Tibetan Parliament in Exile opened on Sep 20 with the main agenda to discuss and adopt the annual reports of the different Departments of the CTA and will continue till Sep 30.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here