Two German MPs, including Bundestag Vice-President, urge China to release Tibetan language rights activist

Tashi Wangchuk, a 32-year-old Tibetan language rights activist. (Photo courtesy: UNPO)
Tashi Wangchuk, a 32-year-old Tibetan language rights activist. (Photo courtesy: UNPO)

(, Jan31, 2018) – As a 32-year-old Tibetan language rights activist awaits verdict in Yulshul (Chinese: Yushu) Prefecture of Qinghai Province, following his Jan 4 trial by China for alleged “incitement of separatism”, two German MPs have added their voice to the growing chorus of international calls for his release.

In an open letter to the Chinese ambassador to Germany, Shi Mingde, on Jan 26, Green MPs Claudia Roth and Maria Klein-Schmeink have called for “effective measures to ensure Tashi Wangchuk’s freedom of speech as guaranteed by the Constitution of the People’s Republic of China and the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights.”

And the open letter, written in German, demands “Tashi Wangchuk’s immediate release and the termination of proceedings as long as there is no legally valid evidence to substantiate the accusations against (him).”

Roth is also the Vice-President of the Bundestag, the German Parliament.

Earlier, on Jan 23, 14 French Senators called on China to observe internationally recognized legal standards and provide Tashi Wangchuk with a fair and transparent judgment process.

In a statement issued in the name of the International Information Tibet Group of the French Senate, the senators called for a fair and transparent trial and urged the People’s Republic of China to implement a judgment process that is in consonance with internationally recognized legal standards, including with the presence of observers at his trial.

They also called for him to be granted access to a lawyer of his choice and to be given access to his family on a regular basis.

The statement, in French, was signed by the group’s President Michel Raison; Vice-Presidents Annick Billon, Patricia Morhiet-Richaud, André Gattolin, and Laurence Haribey; Secretary Pascale Gruny; and members Michel Amiel, Bernard Fournier, Jean-François Longeot, Jacqueline Eustache-Brinio, Alain Houpert, Elisabeth Lamure, Bernard Jomier, and Maurice Antiste.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here